• Maya

Paranoia or, maybe it is Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman

Updated: Sep 23


A couple honeymooning in Bora Bora discover a bag filled with loot. Both Mark, who has just lost his job, and Erin are tempted to keep the goodies to ease their financial burdens. Their decision puts them in deep water.

In addition to ratcheting up the suspense and mystery about the origin of the loot; author Steadman does a great job  revealing how quickly paranoia descends on the couple, and they begin to develop a moral and criminal mindset to cover their tracks and save their hides.  The fact that Erin is a documentary filmmaker working on a project about convicts who have been released from prison adds to the plot.

This is a well-written suspense thriller, although the ending wasn't as satisfying as I had hoped for given the level of mystery created. Worth a read for an adrenalin rush and the mind trip and Hitchcockian element of mystery. Perfect for fans of The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware and The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins.


If you are interested in this book, you might enjoy these titles:


The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell

https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-the-typist-suzanne-rindell

The Perfect Wife by J.P. Delaney https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-a-thoughtful-wife-may-not-be-the-perfect-wife-by-jp-delaney

The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani

https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-the-perfect-nanny-leila-slimani

Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas

https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-catherine-house-elisabeth-thomas


4 views
 

Subscribe Form

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2020 by Turquoise Maya. Photographs and art work, except book jackets in the reviews, are the property of Turquoise Maya LLC. This is a personal blog and any views or opinions represented here are the owner's personal expressions, do not represent those of others and are free to change. These contemplations and expressions are not intended to malign any individuals, groups or collectives of any race, gender or religion. This blog is purely for informational and entertainment purposes and the owner claims no liability for losses, injuries or negative outcomes from the display or use of this information. Comments are welcome, however the blog owner reserves the right to edit or delete comments submitted to this blog without notice if they are deemed to be inappropriate, offensive or questionable. The blog owner is not responsible for content in the comments. This blog disclaimer is subject to change without notice.