• Maya

Watch Out For the New Girl: The Typist by Suzanne Rindell


This intriguing story captures the tone of New York City in 1924 and has a great premise: Rose Baker, a young female stenographer works in a Manhattan police office, taking the confessions of witnesses and criminals. The arrival of glamourous and independent Odalie, 'the other typist' adds flavour to Rose's otherwise routine life; spicing it up with exotic characters at underground speakeasys/bars. Rose falls right into this lifestyle as her obsession with Odalie grows. But, who is Odalie? Will her life irrevocably damage Rose's?

Rindell has a clean, concise writing style that is engaging. Rose's first person narrative is enticing in that you're not quite sure what's going on and what is going to happen. The mini-cliffhangers make for a page turner. There were a couple of plot lines that I thought were going to be the focus for the story, but they ended up not really developing.

What I loved: The style of the book that captures the stylistic feel of the 1920s, and the way Rose speaks and observes.

What I didn't love: The ending. I won't ruin it further except to say that I felt it was a bit too vague and easy to read in a number of ways -- hence the "WHAT?!?" rating.

Rindell’s The Other Typist will probably appeal to fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn.

Because there are book group discussion questions in the back, I might also recommend this to lovers of psychological thrillers and book groups who like to lively discussions on open-ended finales.

This novel was made into a movie by the same title in 2015 and stars Keira Knightley.

Favourite quote (this reference is to the telephone/landline telephone back in 1925):

"It is interesting to me how technology has in many ways facilitated and refine the practice of deception."


If you are interested in this book, you might enjoy these titles:


Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman. https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-something-in-the-water-catherine-steadman

The Perfect Wife by J.P. Delaney https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-a-thoughtful-wife-may-not-be-the-perfect-wife-by-jp-delaney

The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani

https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-the-perfect-nanny-leila-slimani

Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas

https://www.turquoisemaya.com/post/review-catherine-house-elisabeth-thomas




4 views
 

Subscribe Form

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2020 by Turquoise Maya. Photographs and art work, except book jackets in the reviews, are the property of Turquoise Maya LLC. This is a personal blog and any views or opinions represented here are the owner's personal expressions, do not represent those of others and are free to change. These contemplations and expressions are not intended to malign any individuals, groups or collectives of any race, gender or religion. This blog is purely for informational and entertainment purposes and the owner claims no liability for losses, injuries or negative outcomes from the display or use of this information. Comments are welcome, however the blog owner reserves the right to edit or delete comments submitted to this blog without notice if they are deemed to be inappropriate, offensive or questionable. The blog owner is not responsible for content in the comments. This blog disclaimer is subject to change without notice.